Toni Kroos leads Germany squad list for Euro 2024

news banner image

Toni Kroos will once again be at a major continental tournament after making Germany's squad for the European Championship. The Real Madrid midfielder is one of the 27 players named in Julian Nagelsmann's squad, whose names have been revealed little by little until the full list was announced on Thursday.

1 month ago
The German national team has announced its official squad for Euro 2024. After several days of 'teasing in which the DFB has been revealing some of the names present, on Thursday it has already published the 27 players called by Julian Nagelsmann to defend his country from 14th June to 14th July. He will have to rule out one of them.
Among the main names confirmed on Thursday is Toni Kroos. The Real Madrid man announced last February that he was ready to return to the Germany squad after retiring due to the failure of Qatar 2022 and Nagelsmann reached out to him by calling him up for the last international break in March, where he started in the wins over France (0-2) and the Netherlands (2-1). He will now be one of the team's leaders at home.
The presence of four goalkeepers also stands out. In addition to the key players Manuel Neuer and Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Nagelsmann is taking Oliver Baumann and Alexander Nubel with him. The Hoffenheim goalkeeper has been travelling for several years without yet making his debut for Germany, while the goalkeeper on loan at Stuttgart is making his first appearance in a German squad. Bayern midfielder Aleksandar Pavlovic is also in the squad for the first time, although his name was one of the most expected.
Germany have qualified for the European Championship uninterruptedly since 1972. This time they did not have to play the qualifying round as hosts, but it will be their 13th edition and they have won three of them, most recently at England 1996. They are level on the trophy list with Spain, to whom they lost the 2008 final, while in both 2012 and 2016 they were semi-finalists. In 2021, the last tournament with Joachim Low at the helm, they lost in the last 16 to England (2-0).
Manuel Neuer (Bayern) Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim) Alexander Nübel (Stuttgart) Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)
Waldemar Anton (Stuttgart) Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig) Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund">Borussia Dortmund) Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen) Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt) Maximilian Mittelstädt (Stuttgart) Joshua Kimmich (Bayern) David Raum (RB Leipzig) Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid)
Chris Führich (Stuttgart) Aleksandar Pavlovic (Bayern) Leroy Sané (Bayern) Robert Andrich (Bayer Leverkusen) Pascal Gross (Brighton Hove & Albion) Ilkay Gündogan (FC Barcelona) Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) Jamal Musiala (Bayern) Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)
Niclas Füllkrug (Borussia Dortmund) Kai Havertz (Arsenal) Maximilian Beier (Hoffenheim) Thomas Müller (Bayern) Deniz Undav (Stuttgart)